LunarElite Shoe Review

As a self-proclaimed “Nike person” I am usually biased in how I feel about the company’s products. I could not pinpoint what it is about the brand that grabs me, but among other things they tend to have a sleek, attractive, and classy look that is backed up by functionality and quality at least 90% of the time (in my experience). My first experience with the Lunar Elite was a five-hour work day of just walking in it to get the feel which was then followed up the next day with a 12 mile run. Well, here’s what I think…

As a person with narrow feet I immediately thought that the upper on this shoe was just a bit too much for me. I generally prefer a foot hugging fit that feels more like a sock, but the Lunar allowed me enough room to wiggle my toes and even curl them under. Once I tightened them up, got past this, and headed out the door for a run, I realized that they have a much more natural feel than I had expected. By this I mean that while I was running I was not constantly thinking about the shoes and reacting to how they rubbed here, or slid there. I always tell people that ideally, your shoe will feel like an extension of yourself, so that you feel like it is a part of you rather than a hunk of rubber, foam, and mesh attached to your foot.

As far as stability goes, I am probably not the best reviewer due to the fact that I am completely neutral, but I can say that I did feel the internal structure of the shoe wanted to keep itself upright and straight as my foot moved through from strike to toe off. This aspect of the shoe is not my personal favorite because as a neutral runner, I feel like it keeps my foot from moving 100% naturally. This would not bother me on a normal easy run, but I think that it may not be responsive enough for any up tempo workouts due to the looser fit and stable ride.

A lot of people that I help fit for shoes seem to prefer a soft shoe with quite a bit of cushion, which unfortunately, can add weight and bulk to the shoe. The nice thing about Nike’s LunarLite material is that it provides a great amount of shock absorption and a forgiving landing without adding any heft. I am used to running in lightweight trainers or racing flats, so this is one of the things that I liked most about this shoe. Even people who tend to wear harder shoes with a low-level of cushioning may enjoy wearing this shoe for easy runs or long runs as a way to recover from some of the other work they do in less cushioned shoes.

Besides running, I also did a 90 minutes weight workout in LunarElites that included a good deal of forward and lateral movement. Most people aren’t looking for a running shoe for lifting weights and doing plyometrics, but for those that do core classes or weights, it is nice to know whether a certain shoe will give you the stability and fit that you want for non-running activities. It feels like this shoe may be a bit too high and loose for supporting a lot of lateral movement because it causes a bit of rollout when shifting directions quickly. As compared to other shoes I have tried though, the stability that it has does a better job of keeping my foot on the ground and landing without twisting my ankle or causing me to lose any balance. Ideally, the upper material could be a bit more snug so that it wouldn’t feel like my foot is moving within the shoe even the little bit that it did. Overall, I felt comfortable throughout the workout and like the shoe was moving well with me.

At the end of the day, I give this shoe a B+ for joint fit, comfort, weight, and functionality. Being that it is the first version of the LunarElite, this is quite promising for where the shoe could end up in the next few evolutions. The take home message for those looking for a new shoe and considering this one, is that the LunarElite is a lightweight, cushioned, stable shoe that does not have the narrow fit that Nike has been known for. I am confident to say that most people would try it on and at least find it comfortable. From there, personal preference and stability needs will determine if it is a fit or not.

Hopefully this helps anyone who has been researching the shoe or even tried it on.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by kari on January 26, 2010 at 9:40 PM

    but will your Mom like them?

    Reply

  2. Mmm, I am thinking not so much

    Reply

Leave a comment